Ma:yt Departments

“Ma:yt” is a halq’eméylem term that means “to help, defend, protect and aid.”

The Ma:yt department is comprised of Human Resources (HR), Administration, Employment Assistance Services (EAS), Social Development (SD) and Information Technology (IT). All of the employee’s under the Ma’yt department are frontline workers that provide support services to all Sts’ailes community members and all Sts’ailes employees.

 

Human Resources & Administration

The Human Resource department continues to develop systems and processes that addresses the strategic needs of the Sts’ailes organization. The role of the Human Resource department is to support the goals and visions of Sts’ailes Chief and Council. HR is committed to provide professional, respectful services to our Directors/Managers/Officer of the Sts’ailes organization. This includes the annual updates of the Sts’ailes Personnel Policy and Procedures Manual and Salary Administration Policy/Grid. All Operating Policies of the Sts’ailes organization fall in line with Federal and Provincial employment Legislation.

HR continues to embark on new opportunities that will provide employment and training opportunities for Sts’ailes community members.


Social Development

 


Information Technology (IT)

The Sts'ailes IT Department has a total of 3.5 employees (an IT Officer, a Network Administrator, a Webmaster/Multimedia Specialist, and an IT Assistant) who have built and maintain a network that connects 17 different buildings, includes 14 servers, and provides services to more than 350 people and/or computing devices daily.  In addition to keeping the technology of Sts'ailes functioning daily, the IT Department provides a wide range of multimedia services and is currently developing GIS expertise and resources for the benefit of organization as a whole.  The operation of the Sts'ailes IT Department is guided by the approved IT Policy, which governs our protocol and procedures.

The IT Department is continually working to improve and expand Sts'ailes' technical infrastructure and resources in order to meet the growing needs of the Sts'ailes Organization and the Sts'ailes People.


Employment Assistance Services (EAS)

The Employment Assistance Services (EAS) offers many services to our community members and also serve the communities of Scowlitz and Leq’a:mel First Nation.

Some of the services we provide are Employment Services with access to our Resource Room with a Job Board, computers for online job searches and education related purposes, access to Career Development Practitioners (CDP) who can provide help with resumes / cover letters, one on one sessions and career assessments.

 Outreach Services are also provided at Scowlitz First Nation and Leq’a:mel First Nation.

Scowlitz First Nation
Tuesdays - 8:30am to 3:30pm

Leq’a:mel First Nation
Thursdays - 8:30am to 3:30pm        

Vocational Training  

This service is for all Aboriginal people residing in our service area who require skill development training in order to gain a competitive edge to secure and retain employment.   

Funding Process:

  • Meet with a CDP at least 2 months prior to the start date of training
  • You will be asked to do research and provide backup documents for recognized programs · After the application package and research is complete, you will be required to take an assessment
  • If you have followed all these steps and shown a commitment to this process, your application will be reviewed
· Applicants interested in vocational training must be unemployed or underemployed
·· Vocational funding is extremely limited and is NOT guaranteed. Some programs are not eligible for funding.   

For inquiries into any of our services, please contact the EAS Building @ 604.796.5536


Ma:yt Management & Support Team


Linda Pettis
Ma:yt Director
T: 604.796.2116
E: linda.pettis@stsailes.com

Cyndi Point
Ma:yt, Housing & Public Works Executive Assistant
T: 604.796.9601
E: cyndi.point@stsailes.com

Carla Charlie
Front Receptionist / I.R.A. 
T: 604.796.2116
E: carla.charlie@stsailes.com

Mark Balfour
I.T. Officer
T: 604.796.2116
E: mark.balfour@stsailes.com

Adam Balfour
Network Administrator
T: 604.796.2116
E: adam.balfour@stsailes.com

Mikhail Crispin
Webmaster / Multimedia
T: 604.796.2116
E: mikhail.crispin@stsailes.com

Vanessa Jules
I.T. Assistant
T: 604.796.2116
E: vanessa.jules@stsailes.com

Joanna Charlie
Social Dev. Administrator
T: 604.796.5536
E: joanna.charlie@stsailes.com

Charlotte Phair
Social Assistance Admin.
T: 604.796.5536
E: charlotte.phair@stsailes.com

Shelley Felix
E.A.S. Supervisor
T: 604.796.5536
E: shelley.felix@stsailes.com

Stephanie Phair
E.A.S. Admin. Support
T: 604.796.5536
E: stephanie.phair@stsailes.com

Verna Leon
Career Dev. Practitioner
T: 604.796.5536
E: verna.leon@stsailes.com

Lilli Joe
E.A.S. Receptionist
T: 604.796.5536
E: lilli.joe@stsailes.com