Govern Struct

2015/17 Chief & Council & Committees

Registered Community Members nominate and vote for one Chief and nine Councilors. The Chief appoints each Council Member to a Portfolio that represents a department or a specific program. The appointed Council Member politically represents their allotted department/program and offers guidance and support to the appropriate Director/Manager.

Council selects two or three Community Members to join the appointed Council Member, forming a Committee group. These Committees support Chief and Council by assisting in the interpretation of policy as well as making recommendations for policy amendments. Not only does the Committee system create an avenue for community input into policy, which guides Band operations, it also generates community awareness and serves as guidance and preparation for potential Council members – our future community leaders. 

Here are the current Portfolio Holders and Committee Members for the 2015-2017 term: 

cc current